• Shirley is the oldest family-owned business in North America, dating to 1638 when Edward Hill I established a farm on the banks of the James. Today, the 800 acre plantation is still home to the 10th and 11th generations of the Hill-Carter family. Aug
  • The Portuguese introduced sugar plantations in the Caribbean in the 1550s. England’s efforts at colonization primarily focused on North America, where the first English plantation was established in 1607 at Jamestown.
  • THE GAUZE PLANTATION, S.OCEAN ISLE BEACH, NC.
  • Old Prussian origin, but unexplained etymology. Alternatively of Slavic origin, a cognate of Gaus ‘goose’ derived from a Slavic word such as Pelagian gos or Lower Sorbian guns.
  • THE Frick PLANTATION OF CALABASH, NC.
  • Frink Plantation
  •  Calabash, NC, was a large, historic working plantation owned and operated by the Frink family from the mid-1800s until the 1880s. Today, the name is associated with several historical sites and residential developments in the area.
  • Frinks] were your typical Southern family, and the house is very typical of a lot of the plantation houses that were built.  Calabash’s identity started as early as 1691 when the Lord Proprietors granted Landgrave (noblemen) Thomas Smith by patent 48,000…
  • Original Operation The plantation, which encompassed around 3,000 acres, primarily produced indigo, rice, and naval stores. The Frinks, including Samuel and Dr. Lorenzo Frink, made “Pea Landing” (which later became the Village of Calabash) an important shipping center.
  • Enslaved Labor Enslaved individuals, 76 of whom were owned by Samuel Frink, worked the property, cut the timber used to build the houses, and made bricks for the chimneys.
  • Hickory Hall, a historic house built around the early 1800s by Samuel Frink, is one of the oldest in Brunswick County and is the subject of local ghost stories. Legends concern Dr. Lorenzo Frink, who allegedly performed experimental surgeries on enslaved people in the attic of the house.
  • Current Status The future of the historic Hickory Hall house was unclear as of July 2024, as no one had lived there since 1994. There is no official website or visitor information available for the public “Frink Plantation” attraction; however, a Town of Calabash History page provides additional historical context. 
  • While the original plantation is a historical site, the name “Brunswick Plantation” is also used for a nearby modern golf course community, which features single-family homes, townhomes, and condos, as well as amenities such as a pool, clubhouse, and fitness center. 
  • Brunswick Plantation & Golf Resort. This is a gated community and resort that offers golf and lodging. You can find more details on their official Brunswick Plantation & Golf Resort website.
  • The Farm Other place
  • If you are interested in the historical site, be aware that it may not be publicly accessible or have formal visiting hours. For information on the modern residential and resort areas, you should contact them directly via their websites or phone numbers mentioned in the search results. 
  • FRINK PAVED THE WAY FOR HORRY SETTLEMENT When the King of England purchased the rights to the Carolinas from Lords Proprietors in 1729, a plan was formed to attract settlers to this large Unsettled land. The King’s council offered 50 acres to each man, woman and. child, including slaves, who would come and settle the land. The scheme. worked and settlers came, not only from England and Europe, but from other American colonies. Nicholas Frink (Dec. 17, 1696 to Jul 9 1749) was a son of John Frink and his wife, Hannah Prentice of New London, Conn. Where many of the early Frinks had settled. The Father of Hannah was John Prentice, a sea captain, supplying the coastal waters between New England and the Carolinas. He was probably influential in attracting Nicholas Frink to the Carolinas. Nicholas came here in 1734 with his large family and settled on what is today known as Little River Neck. Some other settlers coming from New England, kinsmen of Nicholas Frink, included James Minor, who had a grant for 375 acres on Cedar Creek and Boriah Grant who received an adjoining tract of 300 acres in a grant dated Jan 18,1733. It is on this property that the modern developments known as Cedar Creek Village and Light keeper’s Village are situated. Cherry Grove Beach had been known as Minor’s Island for this James Minor. Nicholas Frink’s numerous descendants intermarried with the Gause, Gore, Bellamy, Vereen and many other families whose names are prominent in Horry and Brunswick counties today. A great-grandson of Nicholas Frink was Samuel Frink (1758 to 1862) who had a large number of slaves on his plantation, which was located North of Calabash River. Some years ago, I led a group of descendants (C B Beery. writer of this article) through a dense forest to visit the family Cemetery. In recent years, the Pearl golf course has been built on this property. Samuel Frink married Elizabeth Bellune, daughter of Daniel Bellune and his wife, Mary Bossier and they became the parents of 12 sons and daughters. One son was Lorenzo Frink who became a prominent doctor and made his home at “Hickory Hall,” which was built prior to 1812. This old house is still standing and may be seen today in Calabash. Dr. Lorenzo Frink later made his home in Southport, N.C. where he is buried. The late movie actor, Joseph Cotton (born 1905) was a great-grandson of Dr. Lorenzo Frink. Dr. Frink gave Hickory Hall to his son, Samuel Frink who sold it together with many personal effects in 1875. Mr. J.H. Lay of Olyphic, N.C., (Columbus County) said his Father attended the sale and bought a wagonload of farming utensils and household goods and among the goods was a collection of books from Dr. Frink’s library, including his medical books. About 25 years ago, a Frink descendant, the late Marshall L. Shepherd of Raleigh, N.C., visited me and asked to be shown some old Frink Plantations. Later, he told of visiting Mr. Lay at Olyphic, who showed him. the old house once occupied by Col. John Gore, which was then being used as a storage barn. Little River Neck was early known as “Frinks Neck” for the family of Nicholas Frink. Old land grants and some deeds in the Horry County records Refer to properties there as being in “Frink’s Neck”. A map of 940 acres of land made Feb. 15, 1808, by Thomas Hemingway, on Little River and Cedar Creek, shows “Frink’s Neck”.
  1. Gause Family History: The family was prominent in the 1700s, with members serving in the Revolutionary War; a historic tomb for a Gause ancestor is located off Hale Swamp Road,
  2. Gause Landing Plantation refers to a historic area in Ocean Isle Beach, NC, once owned by the prominent Gause family, known for their turpentine business and a plantation visited by George Washington in 1791.
  3. Gause Landing Plantation refers to a historic area in Ocean Isle Beach, NC, once owned by the prominent Gause family, known for their turpentine business and a plantation visited by George Washington in 1791. Today, the land is largely part of the modern Brick Landing Plantation residential community, a gated area featuring a golf course, country club, waterfront restaurant (The View), and homes along the Intracoastal Waterway, preserving the historic feel with grand oaks.